January 12th, 2017

5:45am: Living with teenagers… there that’s alll I am going to say about that! And for those of you who live with teeangers you will understand!

Moving on, you know sometimes, Im rather amazed that I make it thru the day unscathed and untouched by all the clumsy things I could do! For example, this morning, as my alarm went off I was almost sure that it was in my dream, but when I realized it was in fact going off in my ear, I was startled. Grabbed my phone, went to shut it off, and dropped my phone on the corner on my lip and busted it open.. Yep that happened. I really did that! While browsing IG this am, I came across a photoshopped picture of Macolm X, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr, and Barack Obama, COULD YOU JUST IMAGINE IF THAT WERE REAL?!?!?!?! I seriously get chills thinking of the conversations that would be going around that table top, could you see it? Three intelligent, brilliant men in the same room, could you imagine what the movement would have been if that had been a reality? Oh my, I might be late to work talking about the conversation that would go on in that room!

10:55pm: I mean honestly…. I cant find words to express how excited I would be. On August 28th, 1963, delivered on the steps of Lincoln Memorial this amazing speech, now while it is not the whole thing, here is the most memorable one.. (yes from memory)

I say to you today, my friends, that in spite of the difficulties and frustrations of the moment, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream.

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.

I have a dream that one day the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slaveowners will be able to sit down together at a table of brotherhood.

I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a desert state, sweltering with the heat of injustice and oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice.

I have a dream that my four children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

I have a dream today. With reading that could you imagine, the wealth of knowledge that would come out of his mouth? How sad would it be if Dr. King were around to see how backwards the world has become? Instead of racism dying down, it is actually becoming worse. How would he feel to know that all of his movements, his speeches, fell upon deaf ears as the vast majority is still stuck in backwardville? As the mother to a black son, I just dont understand where we as a nation, of America, “supposedly” the BEST place to live ever, is lacking diversity or the ability to accept what is different or unfamiliar. In 2017 you would hope to be able to know that no matter what the skin color is you will be treated the exact same, but alas that is not the truth. People can say what they want, I myself happen to have strong views on this. A substitute teacher at my sons school apparently thought it was ok to tell him to “go sit down black man” whether in his head he felt it was a joke or not, it is NEVER ok to say that. Living here in this town, diversity is NOT what it should be. This was not the first incident that we have encountered living here in this town, and no one really understands until you are sitting down explaining to your (at the time he was 8) 8 year old that there is absolutely nothing wrong with him, that people will dislike him because of the color of his skin. That he was absolutely beautiful. It is a double edged sword, for most, because they are brought up in this society, brainwashed into thinking their features and what makes them, THEM, aren’t beautiful, when in fact as a society we should be encouraging the children, teaching them love not hate. If you have lived with nothing but criticism or hate, that is what you put out in the world, as opposed to growing up with love and support you are a different kind of person. Its insane. I could honestly go on about this subject forever and not give up, but it is beyond my bedtime. The beautiful thing of tomorrow is it is Friday!!! And that means noooo work for 2 days, and no 4:45 wake up call. Which means no more busted lip! What a relief that is! hahaha…

You know actually I think I will pick back up on this subject tomorrow. When I can properly go into it. Each one of those men are phenomenal and made history for a reason, and I believe that Malcolm X and Dr. King are rolling over in their graves seeing how the world has become. But thats for another time.

Nighty night. Sleep tight. Dont let them bugs bite…. Yes folks they are real and ugly!! hahaha

 

Leave a Reply

